Welcome to P2PNET.net - The original daily p2p and digital news site. Always First!
Register | Login
RIAA News
Cool Stuff
MPAA News
Games / Consoles
News
Music
Movies
TV
Open Source
Mobiles
Advertising
Product News
P2P
Off Topic
Freedom
Politics
Interviews
Security
DRM
Links
Kids and Kartels
Search: 
Search
 
Web P2PNET   
Search: 
Search
Torrent Site Tracker
MP3Rocket
 
Add real-time p2pnet headlines to YOUR site ! Click here to download our newsfeed code

MediaDefender ‘miivi.com’ scam

p2pnet news | movies:- Media Defender, a notorious anti-piracy gang working for the MPAA, RIAA and several independent media production companies, just launched its very own video upload service called ‘miivi.com’.

The sole purpose of the site is to trap people into uploading copyrighted material, and bust them for doing so.

Media Defender is known for its shady tactics. Besides launching video upload services, it also traps people into downloading fake torrents so they can collect IP addresses, and send copyright infringement letters to ISPs.

Fortunately, most of the IPs of these fake BitTorrent trackers are already blocked by blocklist software such as PeerGuardian. However, the company still manages to collect the IP addresses of thousands of users who do fall for the trap.

And now they’re trying to do the same with a ‘fake’ video download service.

They’ve registered a new domain and launched a video upload / download site with a web 2.0-ish name: miivi.com.

Miivi claims to offer hight speed downloads of blockbuster movies such as ‘300′ (don’t download), hereby luring people into downloading copyrighted content.

Apparently, the cease and desist letters they send to P2P users and video sharing sites such as YouTube and others aren’t enough. At the bottom of this article is a screenshot of the WHOIS info, it speaks for itself. No matter how wrong ‘piracy’ might seem to some people, this is NOT the way to fight it.

My suggestion is: upload and download as much legal content as you can, titled ‘THIS SITE IS A SCAM’, let’s see if their servers can handle the stress.
Update: Miivi is down now, seems like the plan worked.
Update: they changed their WHOIS info.

Torrentfreak - The Netherlands

SlashdotSlashdot it! Add to Technorati Favorites

If your Net access is blocked by government restrictions, try Psiphon from the Citizen Lab at the University of Toronto’s Munk Centre for International Studies. Go here for the official download, here for the p2pnet download, and here for details. And if you’re Chinese and you’re looking for a way to access independent Internet news sources, try Freegate, the DIT program written to help Chinese citizens circumvent web site blocking outside of China. Download it here.


rss feed: http://p2pnet.net/p2p.rss | | Mobile - http://p2pnet.net/index-wml.php | | And use free p2pnet newsfeeds for your site


Tired of being treated like a criminal? They depend on you, not the other way around. Don’t buy their ‘product’. Do bug your local politicians. Use emails, snail-mail, phone calls, faxes, IM, stop them in the street, blog. And if you’re into organizing, organize petitions, organize demonstrations and then turn up on your local political rep’s doorstep, making sure you’ve contacted your local tv/radio station/newspaper in advance. Don’t just complain. Do something!

HOME

7 Responses to “MediaDefender ‘miivi.com’ scam”

  1. Farfour Lives Says:

    I don’t get it though. Surely you can’t be sued for downloading content from an authorized provider. That’s what Media Sentry would be.

    What makes more sense is they’re trojanizing your system to go through the content you have there, and what you do with it. That would be illegal, would it not?

  2. Reader's Write Says:

    And their site is already down…..

  3. Reader's Write Says:

    Actually,it is nothing more than entrapment….plain and simple.I do not think this would stand up in a court of law if it ever went that far…..

  4. BAM Says:

    I think entrapment only applies to law enforcement agencies. Private corporations can probably get away with it

  5. SIGMUND SOLARES/INTERCOSMOS IS SCAM TOO! Says:

    Intercosmos Media Group aka DirectNIC aka Sigmund Solares are scammers too!! Domain squatters.

    http://www.rootfest.net/squatters.html

  6. arxidia Says:

    na pate na gamithite

  7. Reader's Write Says:

    http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/zeroday/files/2007/07/miivi1d.png

Leave a Reply

Please no Spam, flaming (attacking others), trolling, and posting off-topic. Thanks.

    Advertisements
GigaNews
 


Remove Spyware with AntiSpyware for Windows®