The Pirate Bay takes on MediaSentry
p2pnet news | music:- [Spoofing is] an appropriate response to the problem of peer-to-peer piracy,” and “a self-help measure that is completely lawful … I think it would be crazy if record labels, or motion picture studios or any other owners of content didn’t take advantage of those kinds of measures.”

So says deputy RIAA spin-doctor-in-chief Cary Sherman (right), quoted in MediaSentry sales waffle.
Spoofing is a shady practice used by the corporate entertainment cartels to try to trick people into downloading fake files to discourage them from going after the real ones, or to get information they (the cartels) later hope to use in P2P filesharing lawsuits.
Now the Pirate Bay wants MediaDefender to walk the plank to bankruptcy, posts enigmax in Holland’s Torrentfreak, going on >>>>>
The BitTorrent trackers sitting in the depths of The Pirate Bay are there for the benefit of the people, to help them distribute bandwidth intensive media worldwide at no cost. But when anti-piracy companies like Media Defender of MiiVi infamy abuse that service, it’s time to bring out the plank. They’re not welcome.
The guys at The Pirate Bay aren’t happy. Certain commercial outfits have been trying to use their trackers to hunt down pirates – companies like Media Defender who will be fresh in your mind following the MiiVi incident. Certain counter-measures have been put in place to deal with this situation.
Brokep explained that steps are taken to block Media Defender from accessing their trackers. ‘We block them and some other torrent sites do as well.’ Holding out a helping hand to other tracker administrators worldwide he continued, ‘if any other torrent site need some IP ranges to block, just talk to us.’
It’s clear that Brokep and the crew have had enough of Media Defender, and the Miivi incident seems to be the straw that broke the camels back. ‘Since the Miivi-incident we can’t keep quiet about them anymore’ he said. ‘We want their employers to stop using them so they go bankrupt.’
In the meantime, The Pirate Bay has introduced a Usage Policy for their trackers, engineered to keep certain commercial organizations out, while ensuring that service continues as usual for everyone else. For most companies, this will simply involve them getting a nod from the guys to use the tracker.
Companies like Media Defender (who have already had their attention drawn to the changes) should take extra care to read this part of the Usage Policy.
‘The tracker may not be used by anyone with the intention to track usage, log ip addresses/usage or anything else that we consider intrusion of privacy or disruption of tracker service. If you are not sure if this would be the case for your usage, please contact us in order to get our permission.’
Brokep has informed Media Defender that if they manage to access the tracker, they will be breaking the terms of the Usage Policy and unfortunately, The Pirate Bay will have no choice but to invoice them at the following rates:
Basic Fee: EUR 5000 (about $6,800)
plus bandwidth
plus other costs that may arise due to the violation.Of course, individuals, organizations and companies who use the trackers for ‘well meaning’ purposes, such as distributing works of cultural benefit for the end user, do not need to ask permission.
Good idea. Stay tuned.
Also See:
MediaDefender – MediaDefender `miivi.com` scam, July 4, 2007
Torrentfreak – The Pirate Bay Wants MediaDefender to Walk the Plank to Bankruptcy, July , 2007
If your Net access is blocked by government restrictions, try Psiphon from the Citizen Lab at the University of Toronto’s Munk Centre for International Studies. Go here here for details.
rss feed: http://p2pnet.net/p2p.rss | | Mobile – http://p2pnet.net/index-wml.php | | And use free p2pnet newsfeeds for your site
Tired of being treated like a criminal? They depend on you, not the other way around. Don’t buy their ‘product’. Do bug your local politicians. Use emails, snail-mail, phone calls, faxes, IM, stop them in the street, blog. And if you’re into organizing, organize petitions, organize demonstrations and then turn up on your local political rep’s doorstep, making sure you’ve contacted your local tv/radio station/newspaper in advance. Don’t just complain. Do something!






July 5th, 2007 at 12:37 pm
in most civilized cuntries the practice of entrapment is illegal.
all riaa/mpaa defendence should check where and how the evidence against them was obtained.
July 5th, 2007 at 2:17 pm
Considering the RIAA/MPAA obviously ain’t gotta abide by true laws, why should we abide by their laws?
July 5th, 2007 at 6:20 pm
“a self-help measure that is completely lawful”
uh no, its not “completely lawful” its more like “completely unlawful” spoofing is spreading fake files in order to gain entrance into a personal computer and steal personal information. Where have we seen this before? Oh yes, trojans and keyloggers, and I don’t remember trojans and keyloggers being lawful.
July 6th, 2007 at 5:28 pm
Registrant:
Mister Yards Consumer Networki
PO 46724
San Diego, CA 90049
US
6197457548
Domain Name: P2P.NET
Administrative Contact:
Yards, Jason info@mediadefender.com
PO 46724
San Diego, CA 90049
US
6197457548
Technical Contact:
Yards, Jason info@mediadefender.com
PO 46724
San Diego, CA 90049
US
6197457548
Record last updated 04-17-2007 01:33:42 PM
Record expires on 10-15-2010
Record created on 10-16-1998
Domain servers in listed order:
NS0.DIRECTNIC.COM 69.46.233.245
NS1.DIRECTNIC.COM 69.46.234.245
July 7th, 2007 at 3:44 am
Regarding the picture in this article: I have a face, I have a name, now all I need is a Death Note.
July 8th, 2007 at 5:00 pm
MarcusBrutus Says: where did you get that because:
my whoise search on p2pnet.net says the following
OrgName: Everyones Internet
OrgID: EVRY
Address: 390 Benmar
Address: Suite 200
City: Houston
StateProv: TX
PostalCode: 77060
Country: US
ReferralServer: rwhois://rwhois.ev1servers.net:4321/
NetRange: 207.44.128.0 – 207.44.255.255
CIDR: 207.44.128.0/17
NetName: EVRY-BLK-11
NetHandle: NET-207-44-128-0-1
Parent: NET-207-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS1.EV1SERVERS.NET
NameServer: NS2.EV1SERVERS.NET
Comment:
RegDate:
Updated: 2006-11-28
RAbuseHandle: ABUSE477-ARIN
RAbuseName: Abuse Department
RAbusePhone: +1-713-579-2850
RAbuseEmail: abuse@ev1servers.net
RNOCHandle: NOC1445-ARIN
RNOCName: Noc
RNOCPhone: +1-713-579-2850
RNOCEmail: noc@ev1servers.net
OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE477-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: Abuse Department
OrgAbusePhone: +1-713-579-2850
OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@ev1servers.net
OrgNOCHandle: NOC1445-ARIN
OrgNOCName: Noc
OrgNOCPhone: +1-713-579-2850
OrgNOCEmail: noc@ev1servers.net
OrgTechHandle: CNE36-ARIN
OrgTechName: Newcomb, Chris
OrgTechPhone: +1-713-579-2850
OrgTechEmail: ipadmin@ev1servers.net
OrgTechHandle: VST3-ARIN
OrgTechName: Stinson, Valarie
OrgTechPhone: +1-713-579-2850
OrgTechEmail: admin2@ev1servers.net
# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2007-07-07 19:10
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN’s WHOIS database.