Fake Shareaza goes after real Shareaza

p2pnet news | P2P:- "been looking for a good p2p program and found www.shareaza.com," said a blatant comment spam to our Judge nails RIAA ‘making available’ claim story. "check it out everyone."
Not.
We deleted it. It was just a really cheap and shabby effort to get free advertising on p2pnet.
"The shareaza.com site was taken by scammers," so, "always get Shareaza from http://shareaza.sourceforge.net/," says ale5000.
Shareaza is one of the oldest multi-network p2P file-sharing clients supporting Gnutella2, Gnutella, eDonkey2000 (eMule), HTTP, FTP and BitTorrent protocols in C++, MFC and ATL, for Windows, p2pnet posted last year, going on:
"Developed by Michael Stokes, what makes it unusual is: it’s free software licensed under the GNU General Public License and since 2004, has been maintained by a group of volunteers."
This came in our post on the fact the site had been shanghaied, or as nerd.steveferson.com put it:
"Shareaza … has been hijacked by a company aiming to spread malware throughout the internet."
Now Discordia has, "set the legal dogs on the real Shareaza forum," says TorrentFreak.
The action came after a member of the real Shareaza forum suggested a DOS attack on the site, says the story, going on the ‘imposter’ outfit, "clearly thinks they have the law on their side too".
Here, as it appears in TorrentFreak, is a letter sent to the genuine Shareaza team >>>
This law firm represents Discordia, Ltd., the operator of the website Shareaza.com and owner of the rights in the Shareaza branded software distributed from that domain. Please be advised, that your forum contains a string of posts under the title: ’suggestion to kill Shareaza.com.’ Under the string, the poster, RedSquirrel offers directions for users of Shareaza software to implement a DoS that would have the effect of destroying or seriously impairing our client’s application and network. The poster OldDeath also offers a manner to illegally attack our client’s business.
Despite whatever complaints your forum’s users may have with our client’s proper and legal business activities, the type of activity promoted on your forum is illegal. Therefore, we request that you immediately remove this string of posts and any future strings of this nature. My client respects your users’ rights to express their points of view. However, the line is crossed when users begin to promote the destruction of a legitimate business (evidently based on out some misguided belief that artists and others who create music should not be fairly compensated for their efforts) via illegal or other predatory means.
If the above cited illegal activity on your site does not immediately cease and desist, our client will take all necessary action to vigorously and relentlessly protect its rights. To be clear, if this action is not immediately taken and, as result, our client’s business is harmed, we will not only pursue, locate and hold fully responsible each and every one of those who have implemented this, or any similar DoS, but also those responsible for maintaining your site and the forums.
Please confirm that the requested action is being taken immediately.
Jeffrey A. Kimmel
Meister Seelig & Fein, LLP
140 E. 45th St., 19th Fl.
New York, NY 10017
(212) 655-3578
Definitely stay tuned.
Also See:
p2pnet - Shareaza shanghaied, December 27, 2007
nerd.steveferson.com - Urgent Warning for Shareaza Users - Shareaza.com Hijacked, January 8, 2008
TorrentFreak - Lawyers For ‘Imposter’ P2P Software Threaten Open-Source Team, February 25, 2008
![]()
Use free p2pnet newsfeeds for your site. It’s really easy!
Subscribe to p2pnet.net | | rss feed: http://p2pnet.net/p2p.rss | | Mobile - http://p2pnet.net/index-wml.php
Net access blocked by government restrictions? Use Psiphon from the Citizen Lab at the University of Toronto. Go here for details. Download here.





p2pnet - rss feed: 

February 26th, 2008 at 2:17 pm
“”been looking for a good p2p program and found www.shareaza.com,” said a blatant comment spam to our Judge nails RIAA ‘making available’ claim story. “check it out everyone.”
Not.
We deleted it. It was just a really cheap and shabby effort to get free advertising on p2pnet.”
It wasn’t blatant spam, but parody by me as “Musica”, to help get the word spread ever wider about this shitty scam - parody you don’t seem to get, Jon. I support your efforts to expose this corrupt industry all the way, but you just don’t seem to get the parody angle - these pricks really do think about you and me in such a blatantly offensive way.
I knew that one way or another, someone would say, “No it damned well isn’t!” and set the record straight and the debate would begin.
Anyway, p2pnet readers got a whole article on it now, so it looks like it worked.
Spread the word!
February 26th, 2008 at 3:33 pm
Humble apologies, FT
“parody you don’t seem to get, Jon”.
I do when it’s recognizable as such. But if you saw the number of similar free ad efforts I delete every day, you wouldn’t be surprised I thought this was yet another of same
Cheers! And thanks …
February 29th, 2008 at 12:04 pm
You know, stuff like this is just disgusting. Perhaps the people should fight back…
http://www.plaza1.net/SpamFryer.jar
Spammer sites are crap, but if everyone does their part, who knows