Welcome to P2PNET.net - The original daily p2p and digital news site. Always First!
Register | Login
RIAA News
Cool Stuff
MPAA News
Games / Consoles
News
Music
Movies
TV
Open Source
Mobiles
Advertising
Product News
P2P
Off Topic
Freedom
Politics
Interviews
Security
DRM
Links
p2pnet Digests
Search: 
Search
 
Web P2PNET   
Search: 
Search
Torrent Site Tracker
MP3Rocket
 
Add real-time p2pnet headlines to YOUR site ! Click here to download our newsfeed code
p2pnet - rss feed: http://p2pnet.net/p2p.rss | p2pnet celebrities: http://p2pnet.net/celeb.rss | Mobile? http://p2pnet.net/index-wml.php

RIAA extortion company: identified & located?

p2pnet news | RIAA News:- A long-time p2pnet reader and computer programmer says he’s 99.9% certain he’s unearthed the name of the company that may be running the RIAA’s so called ‘Settlement Center’.

“My information is correct based on his examination of data from several sources,” he states in an email, going on >>>

Hi Jon:

I’ve been doing a little internet research and I believe I’ve located the RIAA’s extortion centers.  

It looks to me like they’re run by a company called P S C Group, LLC.  

Below is the information documenting why I believe this company is involved:

Visiting the Website p2plawsuits.com and clicking on, “help,” I got the phone number for the settlement center. I checked the CNAM [ (Calling NAMe) An IN (Intelligent Network) ] database, and it associated the advertised number, 9132348181 to “PSC GROUP LLC”.

When you make a call, a few things go along with it.

There’s ANI (automated number identification), which generally isn’t transmitted to the recipient. CLID (calling line ID, aka caller ID) is the number that’s calling. (Note- this is easy to fake, just FYI).

Caller ID Name (CNAM) isn’t actually sent along with the call.

The receiving telco’s switch gets the call (complete with ANI and CLID) and then queries a 3rd party database for CNAM information.

That’s assembled into the call which is then sent to the destination subscriber, complete with callerID and CNAM (but no ANI unless the destination is a 1800 number).

As I understand it, there’s more than one of these CNAM databases, they don’t all talk to each other or have the same data, and they all charge per query.

The North America Numbering Plan website shows the number is located in Kansas City, Kansas provided by Southwestern Bell. Googling “P S C GROUP LLC” put the following websites at the top of the list:

http://www.psclistens.com
http://www.pscgroup.com

Contact Information (Obtained from above websites) for P S C Group LLC is as follows:

13200 Metcalf Avenue
Suite 100
Overland Park, KS 66213
Phone numbers, 913.402.4599 800.592.8003 fax 913.402.4689
email, info-KS@psclistens.com

1051 Perimeter Drive
Suite 500
Schaumburg, IL 60173
Phone numbers, 847.517.7200 800.592.8003 fax 847.517.7600
email, info-ILS@psclistens.com

601 Carlson Parkway
Suite 1050
Minnetonka, MN 55305
Phone Numbers, 952.448.2300 800-592-8003 fax 800-231-4915
email, info-MN@psclistens.com

Unless the telephone company CNAM is incorrect, to me, this company looks awfully guilty.

The alternative CNAME database points to the CNAM being S I L C C.

But Googling that name also returns the Overland Park Kansas address.

I don’t know if this will help any victims of RIAA attacks or their lawyers or not. But hope it will, and the information is up for grabs.

Definitely stay tuned.

SlashdotSlashdot it! Add to Technorati Favorites


Use free p2pnet newsfeeds for your site. It’s really easy!

Subscribe to p2pnet.net | | rss feed: http://p2pnet.net/p2p.rss | | Mobile - http://p2pnet.net/index-wml.php


Net access blocked by government restrictions? Use Psiphon from the Citizen Lab at the University of Toronto. Go here for details. Download here.

HOME

17 Responses to “RIAA extortion company: identified & located?”

  1. Mike Says:

    Be nice if folks in the neighborhood could drive by & confirm what is at those addresses.

  2. anonymous Says:

    Even nicer is if someone could call as the “RIAA”and social engineer verification from this company. Once it is proven beyond a doubt that this company is guilty, then all hell should be unleashed on this company. I’m talking about shaming this company’s clients to do business with other companies if this company does not immediately dump the RIAA. Enough with unethical businesses getting away with what ever they want.

  3. Reader's Write Says:

    Great! Let begin the operation Phone Storm! Everyone calling them every one faxing them black pages!

    Attack! Attack Attack!

    Yaaaaooooo!

  4. Reader's Write Says:

    We are Anonymous
    We are legion
    We do not forgive
    We do not forget
    We have awoken

  5. Reader's Write Says:

    The Illinois address comes back in a search on the IL Sec State’s website for PSC. It lists one Andrew J. Lauter as the registered agent for the company. A Google search indicates that he is the president of that company, and is also the CTO of Accertify LLC, a company that specializes in CC/check fraud prevention. The Google search also indicates that PSC stands for “Precision Systems Concepts”.

    Looking at the Accertify website, the listed address is the same - 1051 Perimeter Drive - just a door or two down in Suite 510. In fact, most of the officers of Accertify were previously either officers or executives for either Orbitz (before it was sold to Cendant) or PSC Group. It also indicates that PSC Group did some work for Orbitz concerning fraud prevention back in 2001.

  6. Reader's Write Says:

    Oh… Also, looking up Accertify LLC in the IL Sec State database indicates that the company was formed in March 2007, and its old name was Obexa LLC (changed in May 2007 to Accertify LLC). The registered agent is a document processing company that handles that sort of thing for all sorts of companies.

  7. Reader's Write Says:

    Just remember that all toll-free numbers you dial WILL include the number you are calling from. The company can cross-reference the time they received the call with their monthly phone bill and get your number, or at least the number you are dialing from. Use a pay-phone or a friend’s phone from across town to call. EVEN IF YOU HAVE CALLER-ID BLOCKED they will still get your number. I inquired about that of my phone company since my caller-id is (supposedly) always blocked, but they told me that the caller-id exclusion is contractually allowed for toll-free numbers if requested by the companies. Of course it is always requested, so just keep this in mind when calling toll-free numbers, at least in the USA.

  8. anonymous Says:

    Many voip to pstn providers, including the free ones offer free connection to toll free numbers. Also, one can (politely) call once and ask about this company’s involvement with extortion.

  9. anonymous Says:

    Click on the Slash Dot it button and see if this can get onto the Slashdot.org ’s website. If that happens the news will spread like wildfire.

  10. Reader's Write Says:

    Yeh -slashdot this

  11. Jon Says:

    I would but I’ve given up. Although p2pnet gets slashdotted from time time time, it’s always from someone else’s post.

    They ignore my ‘contributions’. Maybe they think it’s self-promotion? I dunno :)

    Cheers!

  12. Unlicensed Investigator Says:

    Going to “terms of use” on the psclistens.com web site one finds a U.S. trademark registration number. A trademark database search produces the following corporate information:

    PSC Group, LLC CORPORATION ILLINOIS
    1051 Perimeter Drive Suite 500
    Schaumburg ILLINOIS 60173

  13. gene Says:

    It was two employees of Directv who took there extortion calls. Those two employees were very useful in telling the whole story
    of just how they got people to turn over money and tactics used.

  14. gene Says:

    This also looks like a possible company at the same Schaumburg address given what they do. They also have an address in the state of Washington

    Systems research Inc.
    1051-Perimeter Drive
    Schaumburg Ill

    http://www.systemsresearchinc.com/news/Default.aspx

  15. Reader's Write Says:

    It’s a big building and a much older company, and I didn’t find any information to suggest that they’re connected.

  16. RichardL.Gabriel Says:

    shit and i told our webdesigners that they should not run this lightbulb thingy with the claim surrounding “listening”
    I knew one day someone draw the conclusion to this “listening” company.
    Those morons were even bold to ask for a registered trademark/claim.
    :-(

  17. Reader's Write Says:

    They are in Schaumburg, the info is correct. They are an IT Consulting firm. They do VOIP solutions as one of their practices and the RIAA is nothing more then a VOIP customer they support. PSC has no ties other then a VOIP system to the RIAA. PSC most likely designed the VOIP system for them. The other company SRI was in the same building but moved and it is a different company. PSC has been around since 1990 and does mostly application development.

Leave a Reply

    Advertisments
TekSavvy