RIAA extortion company: identified & located?

p2pnet news | RIAA News:- A long-time p2pnet reader and computer programmer says he’s 99.9% certain he’s unearthed the name of the company that may be running the RIAA’s so called ‘Settlement Center’.
“My information is correct based on his examination of data from several sources,” he states in an email, going on >>>
Hi Jon:
I’ve been doing a little internet research and I believe I’ve located the RIAA’s extortion centers.
It looks to me like they’re run by a company called P S C Group, LLC.
Below is the information documenting why I believe this company is involved:
Visiting the Website p2plawsuits.com and clicking on, “help,” I got the phone number for the settlement center. I checked the CNAM [ (Calling NAMe) An IN (Intelligent Network) ] database, and it associated the advertised number, 9132348181 to “PSC GROUP LLC”.
When you make a call, a few things go along with it.
There’s ANI (automated number identification), which generally isn’t transmitted to the recipient. CLID (calling line ID, aka caller ID) is the number that’s calling. (Note- this is easy to fake, just FYI).
Caller ID Name (CNAM) isn’t actually sent along with the call.
The receiving telco’s switch gets the call (complete with ANI and CLID) and then queries a 3rd party database for CNAM information.
That’s assembled into the call which is then sent to the destination subscriber, complete with callerID and CNAM (but no ANI unless the destination is a 1800 number).
As I understand it, there’s more than one of these CNAM databases, they don’t all talk to each other or have the same data, and they all charge per query.
The North America Numbering Plan website shows the number is located in Kansas City, Kansas provided by Southwestern Bell. Googling “P S C GROUP LLC” put the following websites at the top of the list:
http://www.psclistens.com
http://www.pscgroup.com
Contact Information (Obtained from above websites) for P S C Group LLC is as follows:
13200 Metcalf Avenue
Suite 100
Overland Park, KS 66213
Phone numbers, 913.402.4599 800.592.8003 fax 913.402.4689
email, info-KS@psclistens.com
1051 Perimeter Drive
Suite 500
Schaumburg, IL 60173
Phone numbers, 847.517.7200 800.592.8003 fax 847.517.7600
email, info-ILS@psclistens.com
601 Carlson Parkway
Suite 1050
Minnetonka, MN 55305
Phone Numbers, 952.448.2300 800-592-8003 fax 800-231-4915
email, info-MN@psclistens.com
Unless the telephone company CNAM is incorrect, to me, this company looks awfully guilty.
The alternative CNAME database points to the CNAM being S I L C C.
But Googling that name also returns the Overland Park Kansas address.
I don’t know if this will help any victims of RIAA attacks or their lawyers or not. But hope it will, and the information is up for grabs.
Definitely stay tuned.
Use free p2pnet newsfeeds for your site. It’s really easy!
Subscribe to p2pnet.net | | rss feed: http://p2pnet.net/p2p.rss | | Mobile - http://p2pnet.net/index-wml.php
Net access blocked by government restrictions? Use Psiphon from the Citizen Lab at the University of Toronto. Go here for details. Download here.





p2pnet - rss feed: 

April 7th, 2008 at 10:01 am
Be nice if folks in the neighborhood could drive by & confirm what is at those addresses.
April 7th, 2008 at 10:22 am
Even nicer is if someone could call as the “RIAA”and social engineer verification from this company. Once it is proven beyond a doubt that this company is guilty, then all hell should be unleashed on this company. I’m talking about shaming this company’s clients to do business with other companies if this company does not immediately dump the RIAA. Enough with unethical businesses getting away with what ever they want.
April 7th, 2008 at 11:04 am
Great! Let begin the operation Phone Storm! Everyone calling them every one faxing them black pages!
Attack! Attack Attack!
Yaaaaooooo!
April 7th, 2008 at 11:37 am
We are Anonymous
We are legion
We do not forgive
We do not forget
We have awoken
April 7th, 2008 at 2:04 pm
The Illinois address comes back in a search on the IL Sec State’s website for PSC. It lists one Andrew J. Lauter as the registered agent for the company. A Google search indicates that he is the president of that company, and is also the CTO of Accertify LLC, a company that specializes in CC/check fraud prevention. The Google search also indicates that PSC stands for “Precision Systems Concepts”.
Looking at the Accertify website, the listed address is the same - 1051 Perimeter Drive - just a door or two down in Suite 510. In fact, most of the officers of Accertify were previously either officers or executives for either Orbitz (before it was sold to Cendant) or PSC Group. It also indicates that PSC Group did some work for Orbitz concerning fraud prevention back in 2001.
April 7th, 2008 at 2:46 pm
Oh… Also, looking up Accertify LLC in the IL Sec State database indicates that the company was formed in March 2007, and its old name was Obexa LLC (changed in May 2007 to Accertify LLC). The registered agent is a document processing company that handles that sort of thing for all sorts of companies.
April 7th, 2008 at 2:55 pm
Just remember that all toll-free numbers you dial WILL include the number you are calling from. The company can cross-reference the time they received the call with their monthly phone bill and get your number, or at least the number you are dialing from. Use a pay-phone or a friend’s phone from across town to call. EVEN IF YOU HAVE CALLER-ID BLOCKED they will still get your number. I inquired about that of my phone company since my caller-id is (supposedly) always blocked, but they told me that the caller-id exclusion is contractually allowed for toll-free numbers if requested by the companies. Of course it is always requested, so just keep this in mind when calling toll-free numbers, at least in the USA.
April 7th, 2008 at 3:23 pm
Many voip to pstn providers, including the free ones offer free connection to toll free numbers. Also, one can (politely) call once and ask about this company’s involvement with extortion.
April 7th, 2008 at 3:26 pm
Click on the Slash Dot it button and see if this can get onto the Slashdot.org ’s website. If that happens the news will spread like wildfire.
April 7th, 2008 at 3:36 pm
Yeh -slashdot this
April 7th, 2008 at 3:39 pm
I would but I’ve given up. Although p2pnet gets slashdotted from time time time, it’s always from someone else’s post.
They ignore my ‘contributions’. Maybe they think it’s self-promotion? I dunno
Cheers!
April 7th, 2008 at 6:59 pm
Going to “terms of use” on the psclistens.com web site one finds a U.S. trademark registration number. A trademark database search produces the following corporate information:
PSC Group, LLC CORPORATION ILLINOIS
1051 Perimeter Drive Suite 500
Schaumburg ILLINOIS 60173
April 7th, 2008 at 9:29 pm
It was two employees of Directv who took there extortion calls. Those two employees were very useful in telling the whole story
of just how they got people to turn over money and tactics used.
April 7th, 2008 at 9:55 pm
This also looks like a possible company at the same Schaumburg address given what they do. They also have an address in the state of Washington
Systems research Inc.
1051-Perimeter Drive
Schaumburg Ill
http://www.systemsresearchinc.com/news/Default.aspx
April 8th, 2008 at 1:13 pm
It’s a big building and a much older company, and I didn’t find any information to suggest that they’re connected.
April 9th, 2008 at 2:48 am
shit and i told our webdesigners that they should not run this lightbulb thingy with the claim surrounding “listening”

I knew one day someone draw the conclusion to this “listening” company.
Those morons were even bold to ask for a registered trademark/claim.
April 10th, 2008 at 1:59 pm
They are in Schaumburg, the info is correct. They are an IT Consulting firm. They do VOIP solutions as one of their practices and the RIAA is nothing more then a VOIP customer they support. PSC has no ties other then a VOIP system to the RIAA. PSC most likely designed the VOIP system for them. The other company SRI was in the same building but moved and it is a different company. PSC has been around since 1990 and does mostly application development.