Email from France - 10
p2pnet.net News:- Today, the administrator of one of the biggest eDonkey servers in the world contacted Ratiatum.com and told us something was wrong with one of the many servers populating the network.
"A server called TRIBES is hosted at 209.123.110.82", Bile666 said.
So what? - you’re probably wondering.
Well, "this IP is within the range of IP used by Mediasentry", he said.
Mediasentry is, as you know, a p2p scalp-hunter and as it says in its own promotional blurb, it’s, "a global provider of anti-piracy and business management services enabling the successful growth of online distribution for companies in the entertainment and software industries" and even better:
"MediaSentry’s anti-piracy solutions help clients detect and deter unauthorized distribution of copyrighted content and prosecute those who engage in media and software piracy."
Ask yourself this:
Why would they set up their own eDonkey server, in the process helping people swap files?
Well, their server is extremely interesting.
The number of connected users it declares and the number of its indexed files don’t change. Nor would it accept connections neither, so you couldn’t actually use it to swap files.
BUT - it does ask for download sources thus collecting a tremendous amopunt of data on what people share.
That’s pretty snaky, even by Big Music scalp-hunter standards.
Not to worry, though, The p22 community is always a step or 10 ahead.
eMule (an open-source eDonkey clone) comes with a file called ipfilter.dat (http://emulepawcio.sourceforge.net/nieuwe_site/ipfilter_fake_list.html), which lists IP ranges the software automatically bans.
Mediasentry was on one of them.
================
Guillaume Champeau, who runs Ratiatum.com, p2pnet’s opposite number in France, and p2pnet editor Jon Newton, decided they owe it to their respective readers to trade items.
Champeau Emails from France: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9
An additional Ratiatum / p2pnet collaboration will be announced in the very near future.






September 30th, 2004 at 1:28 am
They’ve been doing a variation of this on kazaa and winmx as well.
September 30th, 2004 at 11:32 pm
I tried emailing story, but kept getting this:
_______________________________________________
This is the Postfix program at host p2pnet.net.
I’m sorry to have to inform you that the message returned
below could not be delivered to one or more destinations.
For further assistance, please send mail to <postmaster>
If you do so, please include this problem report. You can
delete your own text from the message returned below.
The Postfix program
_______________________________________________
so instead I posted in http://p2pnet.net/story/2568
October 10th, 2004 at 4:03 am
Mediasentry got me for a file using edonky 22 Sep. 2004 so watch out!!!!
May 3rd, 2005 at 6:03 pm
Listen,
After a day of being hammered on port 6881 by MediaSentry, I finally got sick of it. For those of you who do not know why Mediasentry is, they hammer the shit out of your computer, spying on you until they catch you doing something illegal. Then they send a cease-and-desist letter to your ISP for any DMCA complaint. If you have Peerguardian 2 and they started hammering you, email them. Fucking let them know how you feel about being hammered. Let them know that you will not tolerate being hammered or port scanned or any other illegal practices. Also tell them that if they do not remove you from their spy list you will report them to the Better Business Bureau, IF you live in the United States.
MediaSentry is based in New York. They are the internet police for the RIAA and MPAA as well as other organizations. They employ illegal business practices and I think that they should be exposed.
Please share this knowledge.
October 19th, 2005 at 3:10 pm
so what happenned, they contact the police?
December 5th, 2005 at 1:33 am
watch torrent sites, I just saw them show up on my peer guardian list while downloading via thepiratebay.org
January 18th, 2006 at 7:21 pm
I also like to throw in a bit about the fact that p2p is not illegal - the destruction of a technology because ’some’ people could use it for illegal means…not that I would ever share (c) material or M$ crap-ware
supreme.commander@last_free_country.terra.sol.uniververse
April 7th, 2007 at 12:33 pm
Do you really think that would do any good? My thought is that contacting them would be about the same as contacting a spammer and requesting your name be taken off their email list! I just can’t imagine anything good coming from it.
I received a notice of copyright infringent from my ISP last week, since then I’ve been hammered by mediasentry at least 250 times per hour. Sure its really annoying (ok, yea, I’m PISSSED off bigtime!!), but at least I know that peerguardian is doing its job properly, and keeping them out of my sytem…
January 25th, 2008 at 1:59 pm
I was just nailed yesterday about someof the same stuff!!
Here is the jist of the e-mail.
Notice of Claimed Infringement
Wed. Jan 23, 2008.
mediasentry “caught” me sharing I Am Legend…
They only know my IP address so as of right now I am sitting back and waiting.
Just waiting.