JetGroove STOP notice
p2pnet.net News:- JetGroove thought it had a great idea with its ‘opt-out’ marketing plan.
Launched on October 5, on the one hand, its jetgroove.com site had mp3 downloads from artists who’d agreed to allow their work to be offered. And on the other, it featured tracks that couldn’t actually be downloaded. Instead, they’d be put on ‘hold’.
The plan was: once enough interest had been shown in a given track, JetGroove would approach the owner with the offer of a deal.
Or, as it said in a statement, “if any record label or any artist is not interested to have one’s tracks on www.jetgroove.com, one should inform JetGroove immediately and all the information JetGroove has about one’s tracks will be taken off the website ASAP”.
Unfortunately, Big Music doesn’t appreciate JetGroove’s way of doing business and used its BPI and IFPI enforcement organs to issue a Cease and Desist order.
The offending ‘tracks’ are gone and a notice on the site now states:
“The line that JetGroove is going to continue to follow is: LEGAL SALES ONLY. The project was created to give independents a good chance of being known in the world, and earning money, not to make them suffer again as they do from p2p systems. And the least thing JetGroove planned to do is to violate rights of record labels, publishers, artists or authors. JetGroove officially states that if you are not interested to have your tracks on www.jetgroove.com, you should contact JetGroove immediately and all the information we have about your tracks will be taken off the website ASAP.”
===================
See:-
October 5 – JetGroove, the Biggest On-line Underground Music Provider, Launches Its Service
Site – jetgroove.com
statement – JetGroove issues official statement regarding it’s website selling mp3 tracks, October 9, 2004






October 17th, 2004 at 3:01 am
So now posting INFORMATION about intellectual property is illegal?
I do not see what the problem is with having a list of tracks.
Not much problem with recording user interest with a track,
then trying to obtain a deal to provide it either.
They don’t have the tracks that they’re not allowed to sell (presumably).
So what did they ceased and desist?
Nothing.
The “on hold” feature that let’s you ask for songs not available seems to still be there.
Of course I have not used the service so if anyone has more information please post it.
October 17th, 2004 at 4:42 pm
you’re forgetting one thing – some people actually paid money (minimum charge $20) to download some tracks, just to find out that most of the files are UNAVAILABLE. i personally tried to purchase an album, and it wasn’t available for downloads. but i did pay $20 to find out! i emailed jetgroove and asked to get my money back, but after almoust 10 days i still haven’t received any reply. also – they’ve listed a lot of UNRELEASED and even UNEXISTING material! if this is not a scam then what ?
October 17th, 2004 at 11:21 pm
Ah!
I was wondering it there was more to it than the article mentionned.
If they charge you without giving you ANYTHING in return,
then they must be forced to refund you.
NOWHERE in the story was it mentioned that you paid and they put you on hold
because they did not in fact have the track for download.
But this is a scam upon the users of the site,
not on the record labels as the article stated.
Thanks for clearing that up.