Welcome to P2PNET.net - The original daily p2p and digital news site. Always First!
Register | Login
RIAA News
Cool Stuff
MPAA News
Games / Consoles
News
Music
Movies
TV
Open Source
Mobiles
Advertising
Product News
P2P
Off Topic
Freedom
Politics
Interviews
Security
DRM
Links
Kids and Kartels
Search: 
Search
 
Web P2PNET   
Search: 
Search
Torrent Site Tracker
TekSavvy
 
Add real-time p2pnet headlines to YOUR site ! Click here to download our newsfeed code

Google retreats on Pirate Bay DMCA take down

p2pnet news view Advertising | P2P:- Giant online advertising company (and Number One indexing site) Google last week dropped The Pirate Bay home page.

The action was attributed to a Digital Millennium Copyright Act complaint.

Oh! The Horror!

But it was all a big mistake, says Gargle.

“The removal appears to be an internal error and not part of a DMCA request,” it says in a statement quoted by CNet News.

Ex-TPB spokesman Peter Sunde-Kolmisoppi, “told Swedish newspaper Svenska Dagblated that The Pirate Bay’s attorney sent a letter to both Google and the companies that are suspected of being behind the allegations and demanded that the Pirate Bay be returned to Google’s index,” says the story, adding:

“The Pirate Bay accused Google of censoring a competitor and of stifling free expression, the paper reported.”

Follow p2pnet on Twitter.

1p Subscribe

dropped – Google dumps The Pirate Bay home page, October 2, 2009
CNet News
– Google: Pirate Bay booted off search by mistake, October 2, 2009


Use free p2pnet newsfeeds for your site. It’s really easy!
Subscribe to p2pnet.net | | rss feed: http://p2pnet.net/p2p.rss | | Mobile – http://p2pnet.net/index-wml.php


Net access blocked by government restrictions? Use Psiphon from the Citizen Lab at the University of Toronto. Go here for details.

HOME

5 Responses to “Google retreats on Pirate Bay DMCA take down”

  1. andyb Says:

    Seems to be lots of “mistakes” these days when it comes to p2p stuff

  2. Anakata Says:

    TPB is down

  3. Sven Olaf Kamphuis Says:

    I am now taking over ThePiratebay. Come and get me you nitwits!

    Sven Olaf Kamphuis (CB3ROB), Cyberbunker, Germany

    inetnum: 194.71.107.0 – 194.71.107.255
    netname: DCP-ANYCAST
    descr: DCP Networks Anycast
    country: SE
    admin-c: FN2233-RIPE
    tech-c: FN2233-RIPE
    status: ASSIGNED PI
    remarks: —————————————————————
    remarks: ABUSE related questions mail to abuse@dcpnetworks.net
    remarks: Abuse related questions to any other address will be ignored.
    remarks: —————————————————————
    mnt-by: MNT-DCP
    mnt-by: MNT-CB3ROB
    mnt-routes: MNT-DCP
    mnt-routes: MNT-CB3ROB
    source: RIPE # Filtered
    person: Fredrik Neij
    address: DCPNetworks
    address: Box 161
    address: SE-11479 Stockholm
    address: Sweden
    mnt-by: MNT-DCP
    e-mail: fredrik.neij@teneco.se
    phone: +46 707 323819
    nic-hdl: FN2233-RIPE
    source: RIPE # Filtered
    % Information related to ‘194.71.107.0/24AS13214′
    route: 194.71.107.0/24
    descr: Anycast DNS
    origin: AS13214
    mnt-by: MNT-DCP
    source: RIPE # Filtered

    role: CB3ROB Hostmaster
    address: CB3ROB Ltd. & Co. KG
    address: Koloniestrasse 34
    address: D-13359
    address: BERLIN
    address: Germany

  4. Palmeta Says:

    Go for it Sven!
    Long live TPB!

  5. Betty Says:

    From Google cache

    Pirates move to… Antarctica?

    Watch-movies.net, a big portalsite for illegal movies, has moved to Antarctica. At least according to the Whois records. Because in reality the site is hosted in the Netherlands by a provider called Cyberbunker.com. Cyberbunker is run by the famous Dutch hacker Sven Olaf ‘CB3ROB’ Kamphuis. CB3ROB uses fake Whois records to shield his clients.

    Whois records contain information about the owner of a site, the provider, and the nameservers and DNS-servers associated with the site. The Whois registry enables people to find out who is running a site. By faking Whois records, it becomes much harder to establish who is running a certain site. Naturally, spammers, phishers, pirates and other cybercriminals prefer to use providers that are willing to hide their identities.

    Faking Whois records is a violation of the rules set forth by ICANN, the organisation responsible for the operation of the Domain Name System (DNS). While providers like Cyberbunker claim that they protect the privacy of their users, the reality is that their services mainly attract cybercriminals.

    Providers that don’t play by the rules are an increasing problem for the internet and a thorn in the side of the security community. Therefore, the security community applauded the recent move by ICANN to pull the accreditation of EstDomain, a provider that primarily catered to the needs of spammers and criminals.

    http://futureofcopyright.com/index.php?page=news&id=154

Leave a Reply

Please no Spam, flaming (attacking others), trolling, and posting off-topic. Thanks.

    Advertisements
MP3Rocket


Remove Spyware with AntiSpyware for Windows®