Welcome to p2pnet.net - The original daily p2p and digital news site. Always First!
REGISTER | LOGIN
Cool Stuff
MPAA News
Games / Consoles
News
Music
Movies
Reviews
Open Source
Mobiles
Advertising
Products
P2P
Off Topic
Freedom
Politics
Interviews
Security
DRM
Links
Kids and Kartels
Scroogle Search: 
Search
 
Web p2pnet   
Search: 
Search
Torrent Site Tracker
    Sponsored by
Frostwire
 
p2pnet
 


mp3rocket
 
Add real-time p2pnet headlines to YOUR site ! Click here to download our newsfeed code

Fake online RIAA / MPAA extortion scheme

p2pnet view Crime:- Vivendi Universal, EMI, Warner Music and Sony Music’s RIAA has developed online extortion to a fine art, so it’s somehow appropriate that it and Hollywood ‘trade’ association the MPAA themselves star in an online extortion scheme.

As Finnish security expert Mikko Hypponen puts it onĀ  F-Secure, “There’s a new extortion trojan in circulation.

“This one attempts to steal victims’ money by bullying them to pay a ‘pre-trial settlement’ to cover a ‘Copyright holder fine’.”

The victim is told an ‘Antipiracy foundation scanner’ has found illegal torrents.

If he refuses to pay $400 (via a credit card transaction), “he might face jail time and huge fines.”

And it all looks so real because making the threats, supposedly, are infamous corporate bullies and extortionists the RIAA, alongside the equally infamous MPAA and Copyright Alliance.

“And the warnings will not go away”, says F-Secure, continuing >>>

They will reappear every time the user reboots his system.

All of this is completely fake. There is no “ICPP Foundation”, and the messages will appear even if the system contains no illegal material whatsoever.

Most importantly: Refuse to pay money to these clowns! If people pay them, the problem will only grow bigger.

The group behind this have even set up an official-looking website at icpp-online.com.

The domain is registered to Mr. “Shoen Overns”. The same e-mail address ovenersbox@yahoo.com has been seen before in various other domains, connected to Zeus and Koobface scams.

If you click on the Reports shown by the application, you’ll end up on pages such as these:

We tried calling the (Italian) phone number listed on the page: +39 (06) 9028 0658. Unsurprisingly, it goes nowhere.

These pages are hosted at 91.209.238.2, which according to WHOIS belongs to EBUNKER-NET, a “High protected Somalia network”. It’s running in Moldova.

There is no obvious credit-card payment system connected to the site; they just seem to collect the credit card information.

If you are hit by this trojan, DO NOT PAY. Instead, use an antivirus program that is capable of detecting it to remove the trojan. F-Secure Antivirus detects it as Rogue:W32/DotTorrent.A. You can use our free Online Scanner at ols.f-secure.com to check your system.

The malware is typically located in c:\documents and settings\USERNAME\application data\IQManager\iqmanager.exe. We’ve seen two versions so far. MD5 hashes of them are cedc2c35bf967027d609df13e937946c and bca3226cc1cfea416c0bcf488082e5fd.

At the time of writing, 6:44 am Pacific, icpp-online.com was down.

(Cheers, Filip)

Follow p2pnet on Twitter

..… and identi.ca


First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win ~ Mahatma Gandhi

F-Secure – ICPP Copyright Foundation is Fake, April 12, 2010


Use free p2pnet newsfeeds for your site. Subscribe to p2pnet.net | | rss feed: http://p2pnet.net/feed


Net access blocked by government restrictions? Use Psiphon from the Citizen Lab at the University of Toronto. Go here for details. Click here to learn what technologies might help you bypass censorship in your area.

HOME

8 Responses to “Fake online RIAA / MPAA extortion scheme”

  1. Monkey D. Luffy Says:

    Genius, pure genius.

  2. Reader's Write Says:

    Frankly I don’t see the difference between this scam and the RIAA/MPAA scam.

    In both cases you shall not pay!

  3. Reader's Write Says:

    And in both cases you’d be supporting criminal activity if you did pay.

  4. Reader's Write Says:

    Exactly!

  5. Feddak Says:

    Off topic a bit, but how did the March donation drive end up and how is it so far in April? Haven’t seen an update for a while

  6. Jon Says:

    @ Feddak

    $16.51 for April so far. Which is why I haven’t bothered to post. :)

    Cheers!

  7. Sissy Says:

    Now if people get a real notice, they can ignore it and say they just thought it was one of these scams?

  8. Reader's Write Says:

    Got us as well. Really appreciate you guys taking the time to document.

Leave a Reply

ONLY items referencing the post at hand, please. No links to personal sites, no personal attacks, trolling, freebie advertising, or off-topic posts. Thanks. And Cheers!

    Sponsored by
tek savvy