Anti-virus cyber-squatter
p2p news / p2pnet:- Someone out there is apparently trying to get a lock on unregistered names associated with security and/or anti-virus companies.
“We just noticed that some clown from Panama has been registering typosquatting domains like ‘www-f-secure.com’ and ‘wwwf-secure.com’,” says F-Secure, the real one.
At the moment, they “point to a web site called ‘nortpnantivirus.com’,” says the company’s Mikko Hypponen, going on, “Oh well. At least this site isn’t used for phishing or for downloading trojans.”
Nor, the post points out, is F-Secure alone.
“ These guys are fairly serious, looking at the amount of security-related domains they’ve registered (over 150!),” says Hypponen. These include:
- f-secue.com
- mesagelabs.com
- mcafeeantiviru.com
- bitdefneder.com
- pestpatorl.com
- wwwbullguard.com
- pandafirewall.com
- sendamil.org
- centralcomand.com
The urls are all on http://nortpnantivirus.com and lead to various ’sponsored links’ such as Norton Antivirus 2005, Spyware Virus Remover, 2005 Antivirus Reviews; Mcafee, and so on.
Stay tuned.
Something you think we should know? tips[at]p2pnet.net
See:-
F-Secure – Typosquatting, September 16, 2005





