Grokster, the new terror weapon
p2p news / p2pnet: No one has ever accused the people who run the Big Four record labels or Big Seven movie studios of being smart. The way they’re mishandling the p2p and file sharing phenomenon is ample proof of their ineptitude. But as you can see from this, they’ve outdone themselves.
Now they’re using IP address detection as another kind of childish fear weapon.
There are any number of scripts which’ll allow anyone with a web page, blog, or whatever, to do exactly the same, and these applications have been around since the year dot. Just key ‘ip address script’ into your favourite search engine.
But they mean zip.
The pitiful Grokster terror (ahem) weapon goes on:
“There are legal services for downloading music and movies. This service is not one of them.
“YOUR IP ADDRESS IS 12.34.567.891 AND HAS BEEN LOGGED.
“Don’t think you can’t get caught. You are not anonymous.
“In the meantime, please visit www.respectcopyrights.com and www.musicunited.org to learn more about copyright.”
Both are entertainment cartel scam sites. Meanwhile, the odds of any individual being singled out are akin to being struck by lightning, or winning the pools, or lottery, or whatever public get-rich-quick scheme operates in your country.
Moreover, every day, thousands of new people open Net accounts and discover the p2p networks, further heightening the odds against any one person becoming a cartel victim.
And who’s doing the most to publicize file sharing and p2p? The studios and labels themselves through their various attempts, such as this, to terrorize people into buying their over-priced, low quality digital files.
Not at all incidentally, through Sony BMG, Sony, with several feet in the record label and movie studio camps, will one of these days launch Mashboxx.
As Seán Byrne put it in CD Freaks in June this year, ” Just following the Supreme Court ruling against Grokster, Sony BMG decided to go ahead with its plans with Grokster to offer a legal version of Grokster under the new name Mashboxx. Now, Sony has succeeded in finalising its deal “
(Thanks to Ed, Masha and everyone else ; )
==================
Further to the Grokster terror farce, below, for you further interest and education, are a couple of comment posts:
Registrant:
THE MOTION PICTURE ASSOCIATION15503 Ventura Boulevard
Encino, CA 91436 US
Domain Name: RESPECTCOPYRIGHTS.COM
Administrative Contact:
Egge, Paul pegge@MPAA.ORG
Motion Picture Association
15503 Ventura Boulevard
Encino, CA 91436 US
818-995-6600 fax: 818-382-1786
Technical Contact:
Network Solutions, LLC. customerservice@networksolutions.com
13200 Woodland Park Drive
Herndon, VA 20171-3025 US
1-888-642-9675 fax: 571-434-4620
Netcraft Info:
Linux Microsoft-IIS/6.0 3-Jan-2006 66.252.129.187 WareNet
“Freakin’ morons are running MS IIS on Linux, instead of Apache.”
AND
www.musicunited.org = [ 67.62.118.39 ]
- Domain ID: D90403970-LROR
- Domain Name: MUSICUNITED.ORG
- Created On: 18-Sep-2002 20: 52: 25 UTC
- Last Updated On: 30-Aug-2005 14: 35: 05 UTC
- Expiration Date: 18-Sep-2006 20: 53: 17 UTC
- Sponsoring Registrar: Network Solutions LLC (R63-LROR)
- Status: CLIENT TRANSFER PROHIBITED
- Registrant ID: 414550-NSI
- Registrant Name: Recording Industry Association
- Registrant Organization: Recording Industry Association
- Registrant Street1: 1330 Connecticut Avenue NW
- Registrant Street2: Suite 300
- Registrant Street3:
- Registrant City: Washington
- Registrant State/Province: DC
- Registrant Postal Code: 20036
- Registrant Country: US
- Registrant Phone: 1.2027750101
- Registrant Phone Ext.:
- Registrant FAX:
- Registrant FAX Ext.:
- Registrant Email: hmccaffrey@riaa.com
- Admin ID: 414550-NSI
- Admin Name: Recording Industry Association
- Admin Organization: Recording Industry Association
- Admin Street1: 1330 Connecticut Avenue NW
- Admin Street2: Suite 300
- Admin Street3:
- Admin City: Washington
- Admin State/Province: DC
- Admin Postal Code: 20036
- Admin Country: US
- Admin Phone: 1.2027750101
- Admin Phone Ext.:
- Admin FAX:
- Admin FAX Ext.:
- Admin Email: hmccaffrey@riaa.com
- Tech ID: 414550-NSI
- Tech Name: Recording Industry Association
- Tech Organization: Recording Industry Association
- Tech Street1: 1330 Connecticut Avenue NW
- Tech Street2: Suite 300
- Tech Street3:
- Tech City: Washington
- Tech State/Province: DC
- Tech Postal Code: 20036
- Tech Country: US
- Tech Phone: 1.2027750101
- Tech Phone Ext.:
- Tech FAX:
- Tech FAX Ext.:
- Tech Email: hmccaffrey@riaa.com
- Name Server: NS.TST-US.COM
- Name Server: NS1.TST-US.COM
- Name Server: NS2.TST-US.COM
- Name Server: NS3.TST-US.COM
Feel free to drop hmccaffrey@riaa.com a line.
Stay tuned.
Tired of being treated like a criminal? They depend on you, not the other way around. Don’t buy their ‘product’. Do bug your local political representatives. Use emails, snail-mail, phone calls, faxes, IM, stop them in the street, blog. And if you’re into organizing, organize petitions, organize demonstrations and then turn up on your local political rep’s doorstep, making sure you’ve contacted your local tv/radio station/newspaper in advance.
Also See:
CD Freaks – Sony BMG finalises deal with Grokster & more details given, June 1, 2005





January 3rd, 2006 at 2:46 pm
Geeze, a new terror weapon. Everyone run for your life!
I mean duh! What websites on the internet actually don’t log ips? They are far and few between. So what? You show up and your ip is logged, what pray did you do? Infringe on visiting a website? Besides, Grokster as it was is shut down. You gotta client or something that works for it? lols.
This is nothing but blatent attempts at throwing fear into anyone that shows up. Of course, no one has heard of a proxy.
January 3rd, 2006 at 3:42 pm
They’re script isn’t even very clever. It’s picking up the IP of any proxy between you and them. So I trust they’ll sue my ISP, NTL, for visiting their site…
January 3rd, 2006 at 3:43 pm
Oooh, you logged an IP address visiting Grokster. Any website can do the same thing. Is that supposed to be impressive? Am I supposed to be scared that you’re going to sue me for visiting a web site?
Please do. I’m begging you. PLEASE SUE ME for visiting grokster.com. I need some after-Christmas cash.
Idiots.
January 3rd, 2006 at 4:00 pm
Registrant:
THE MOTION PICTURE ASSOCIATION
15503 Ventura Boulevard
Encino, CA 91436
US
Domain Name: RESPECTCOPYRIGHTS.COM
Administrative Contact:
Egge, Paul pegge@MPAA.ORG
Motion Picture Association
15503 Ventura Boulevard
Encino, CA 91436
US
818-995-6600 fax: 818-382-1786
Technical Contact:
Network Solutions, LLC. customerservice@networksolutions.com
13200 Woodland Park Drive
Herndon, VA 20171-3025
US
1-888-642-9675 fax: 571-434-4620
Netcraft Info:
Linux Microsoft-IIS/6.0 3-Jan-2006 66.252.129.187 WareNet
Freakin’ morons are running MS IIS on Linux, instead of Apache.
January 3rd, 2006 at 4:03 pm
http://www.musicunited.org = [ 67.62.118.39 ]
Domain ID: D90403970-LROR
Domain Name: MUSICUNITED.ORG
Created On: 18-Sep-2002 20: 52: 25 UTC
Last Updated On: 30-Aug-2005 14: 35: 05 UTC
Expiration Date: 18-Sep-2006 20: 53: 17 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar: Network Solutions LLC (R63-LROR)
Status: CLIENT TRANSFER PROHIBITED
Registrant ID: 414550-NSI
Registrant Name: Recording Industry Association
Registrant Organization: Recording Industry Association
Registrant Street1: 1330 Connecticut Avenue NW
Registrant Street2: Suite 300
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City: Washington
Registrant State/Province: DC
Registrant Postal Code: 20036
Registrant Country: US
Registrant Phone: 1.2027750101
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email: hmccaffrey@riaa.com
Admin ID: 414550-NSI
Admin Name: Recording Industry Association
Admin Organization: Recording Industry Association
Admin Street1: 1330 Connecticut Avenue NW
Admin Street2: Suite 300
Admin Street3:
Admin City: Washington
Admin State/Province: DC
Admin Postal Code: 20036
Admin Country: US
Admin Phone: 1.2027750101
Admin Phone Ext.:
Admin FAX:
Admin FAX Ext.:
Admin Email: hmccaffrey@riaa.com
Tech ID: 414550-NSI
Tech Name: Recording Industry Association
Tech Organization: Recording Industry Association
Tech Street1: 1330 Connecticut Avenue NW
Tech Street2: Suite 300
Tech Street3:
Tech City: Washington
Tech State/Province: DC
Tech Postal Code: 20036
Tech Country: US
Tech Phone: 1.2027750101
Tech Phone Ext.:
Tech FAX:
Tech FAX Ext.:
Tech Email: hmccaffrey@riaa.com
Name Server: NS.TST-US.COM
Name Server: NS1.TST-US.COM
Name Server: NS2.TST-US.COM
Name Server: NS3.TST-US.COM
Feel free to drop hmccaffrey@riaa.com a line.
January 4th, 2006 at 9:28 am
Netcraft Info:
Linux Microsoft-IIS/6.0 3-Jan-2006 66.252.129.187 WareNet
Freakin’ morons are running MS IIS on Linux, instead of Apache.
-
-
-
Um…you can’t run Microsoft IIS on Linux. Something is screening the site. A MS web server with a Linux firewall maybe?
January 6th, 2006 at 11:06 am
Why do we continue to talk about Mashboxx it’s the name of a company without a business. In addition it’s video now who cares about music……